Remote Community

By | 1 February 2016

In 2007 by the colonial calendar commands
were given from afar.
Suspend the Racial Discrimination Act
for Aborigines –
they can’t handle their rights anyway.
Troops marched in.
Then – Alpurrurulam, Anmatjere,
Bathurst Island, Bulman, Echo Island,
Gapuwiyak, Gove Peninsula, Gunbalanya,
Haasts Bluff, Hermansberg, Imanpa,
Jay Creek, Kaltukajara, Kintore, Ltyentye,
Maningrida, Melville Island, Mirrngadja,
Mount Theo, Mutitjulu, Numbulwar,
Palumpa, Papunya, Ramingining, Titjikala,
Tjunti, Utopia, Wadeye, Wurrumiyanga,
Yarralin, Yirrkala and Yuendumu
all came under the dictatorship
of a remote community on Capital Hill
called Canberra.

This entry was posted in 72: THE END and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Related work: